The Australian Curriculum

The Australian School Curriculum has been designed to promote successful learning. It aims to nurture confident and creative individuals who develop into active and informed citizens.

The Australian Curriculum incorporates eight areas of academic learning:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Technologies and Languages

Academic subjects within the curriculum are rounded out by seven general capabilities:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and Communication Technology Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding

These general capabilities provide interconnected knowledge, skills, and behaviours that can be applied across any subject-based content. This equips students with the ability to become confident, lifelong learners in a complex, information-rich, globalised world.